The mostly demolished Mountain View Inn

Kristin Poerschke of the Lincoln Highway Heritage Corridor sent some photos of the Mountain View Inn east of Greensburg. The property was bought recently and much of the historic hotel was demolished for a planned shopping plaza. Kristin’s picture might look like the same building as in this vintage postcard but it’s not; the original section was razed and only sections built in the past decade were retained.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “The mostly demolished Mountain View Inn”

  1. tom wible Says:

    thank you for following up on this sad chapter in Mountain View’s history…

  2. Christian Says:

    This is so depressing… The fact that so many Lincoln Highway landmarks are being thrown away is a tragedy. My parents’ wedding reception was at Mountain View, and I always remembered it throughout my childhood… And the fact that they tore down the historic part only is really disgusting. I found my way inside to look around one day last year with no idea it was near closing. I’m glad I was able to get one last look at the inside of the beloved inn. It will be missed.

  3. Christian Says:

    Thank you Tom for the wonderful story, I never knew that. It’s heartbreaking (no pun intended) to know someone could destroy so much history and so many memories so easily.

  4. Lucy Says:

    I could just cry!!! I have so many great memories of the Inn. For nearly two decades I did the dollhouse show and sale there.It was held about the third week in October, so the amazing colors of the surrounding mountains was…well, you knew why it was named Mt View! I always asked for a room in the original Inn, for it was (to me) the most beautiful part…the staff was always friendly and I always felt like I was staying with family. To destroy the Inn, all the memories and history… for another strip mall that we have way too many of already is soooooo sad.

  5. Forest Grauel Says:

    If the economic climate of today is attributable to the demise of this wonderful old inn, then just remember, it survived the “purported” Great Depression which many feel will be eclipsed by what we’re going into now.

    However, if instead its “appeal” to “modern” travelers who like the more “modern” motels, took away the business which was needed to sustain it, then it speaks to the shallowness of us as a people. I would suspect, however, that better management and more cost-effective marketing “could” have saved the day. Obviously, if it survived the “Great” Depression (since when is there anything “great” about a depression???) when the surrounding population and motoring public was only a fraction of what it is today, I’d say “something” was wrong with the business mechanics, but then again, now that it’s gone we’ll never know.

    Much like one of the writers above, my wife and I insisted on staying in the old part. You could “feel” it’s history and richness, and words to the Amy Grant song, “If These Walls Could Speak” would come swelling up from within my soul as I’d wipe my hand over woodwork approaching a century old and feel its resonance as if the “walls” were echoing words to the song,
    “They would tell you that I owe you
    far more than I could ever pay.
    These are the ones who really love you,
    don’t ever go away;
    That’s what these walls would say………

    Earlier in my youth I recall that our small church youth group had stayed at the “Winona Inn” in Winona Lake, Indiana for the “Winona World Youth Advance” around 1960 or 61. It was one of those really special places, though admittedly it had more Spartan accommodations for the rooms, but nonetheless it was my first acquaintance with that warm feeling of staying the night in a frame inn of that era, having been built around 1900, and before stringent fire codes did away with floors that creak and five panel doors with squeaking hinges. I had a numbness come over me when I heard a decade or so ago that it had been torn down. It’s offense against mankind, at least as I heard it, was that it needed so many repairs to bring it “up to code,” the insurance company had raised the premiums, and besides, it was “outdated and no longer needed.”

    Somehow I feel we’d be better as a people if we would brave the “concerns” of “possible” building fires which “could” pose a “threat,” instead of surrendering these grand old lodges to the wrecking ball.

    I’ve heard it said that societies encumber themselves with onerous laws and inter-tangled and often conflicting “regulations” when they lose their way and commit acts which are obviously detrimental to the common good. I feel this is a good example of that, even as another writer cited above how crass it was that such a culturally and esthetically nourishing place of gathering would be supplanted by yet another “McStripmall.”

    As they say, “There outta be a law,” and as much as I absolutely abhor “gub-ment rega-lations,” I would encourage the citizens of the area to see if their elected officials or their “non-elected appointee lackeys” ignored or violated regulations which should already be in effect there barring such an esthetic offense and moral crime to have occurred, and as it seems from all I’ve heard, to have been pulled off under cloak of darkness from public purview.

    Accordingly too and in closing, if there are not sufficient safeguards against this happening again, someone, PLEASE, work to enact legislation that will bind crass developers from wreaking further devastation on what’s left of one of the truly beautiful pieces of Americana.

    If the ones were responsible for this cannot be held accountable, then they and their cronies deserve to be hog-tied with so much red-tape that they’ll find it more cost-effective to re-zone for yet another of their “original” whoop-tea-do “McStripmalls” somewhere else which doesn’t need to have such a nice view of the mountains, especially the foliage in October.
    Sincerely,
    Forest Grauel
    Box 3
    Burtonsville, MD 20866

Leave a Reply

